All 8 Groups Of 2018 FIFA World Cup

32 teams of 2018 FIFA World Cup have been divided into 8 groups of 4 teams each. Just like previous editions, this Football World Cup will have the same format. Find which team in which group in this 2018 Football World Cup. FIFA organized a draw through which all 32 qualified teams of 2018 Football World Cup were divided into eight groups. Some tricky, complicated groups have been made through the draw that got World’s attention. We have seen lots of turning points in the group stage of previous World Cup. Will it be repeated? Host nation Russia is in the first group with Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and Uruguay.

FIFA World Cup 2018 Groups

2018 FIFA World Cup All 8 Groups

Groups are named from A to H. Five times World Champions are in Group E who will play against Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia. Current World Champions Germany is in Group F with Mexico, Sweden, and South Korea. There will be a round-robin game in the group stage. Each team of each group will play against each team. Two top teams with maximum points will qualify for the round of 16. Starting from Group A, host Russia will play against Uruguay, Egypt, and Saudi Arabia.

Groups Teams
Group A Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay
Group B Portugal, Spain, Morocco, IR Iran
Group C France, Australia, Peru, Denmark
Group D Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria
Group E Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia
Group F Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea
Group G Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England
Group H Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Group B is one of the most exciting groups of the competition and why not as it consists of last to European Champions. Secondly, Cristiano Ronaldo will be playing against his Real Madrid team-mates. Morocco and Iran also hold good experience of FIFA World Cup who can make a huge impact. Spain last played against Portugal in 2010 World Cup. La Roja eliminated the Navigators and later won their first World Cup. So we can expect a great between these two sides.

Defending World Champions Germany are grouped with Mexico again after FIFA Confederations Cup that was held last year. Mexican goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa provided a great statement regarding the group. He said “None of us wanted an easy group. If you’re playing the World Cup, you want to face the best. And if you want to reach the final, you have to play great matches.”

Which group is the toughest in 2018 FIFA World Cup?

Well, almost all groups are tough, but one group at which most eyes are staring is Group B. This is because the group is consists of current UEFA Euro Champions Portugal and one time World Champions Spain. Secondly, Cristiano Ronaldo will be playing against his Real Madrid team-mates who are representing Spain in the Russia World Cup. The other two teams Morocco and Iran of this group have good experience of playing the Football World Cup. Both teams have played 4 World Cups and this is their 6th appearance in the finals.

There are two new teams in the competition and they are Iceland and Panama. Everyone is aware of Iceland’s remarkable performance in Euro 2016. Fans have huge expectations from second debutant Panama. Will they proceed further?

The group games will be played from 14 to 28 June in all hosting stadiums of the competition. Thereafter, knock-out games will be played from 30 June to 3 July. The final is to be played on 15th July 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.